Language Show

A regular event in my calendar is the Language Show at Olympia. As usual there were several taster language courses and seminars on a wide range of language topics on offer. In my opinion the languages most widely represented on the stands were Spanish and Chinese, with French close behind. Many of the stands I was looking for were missing, namely Talking Dice and The Language Stickers Company but fortunately the talking dice were available for sale and I was able to add three new sets to my stock. Thankfully anything else I need can be ordered from their websites.  

I was glad to see Latin and Greek for All .  Latin is having something of a revival at present through the Cambridge Latin Project and Minimus. I hope many more schools will be inspired to offer Latin. Perhaps the Show will offer Latin as one of the taster languages another time.

Another stand I was pleased to see was The Language Factory. I have been using their songs in my French and Spanish teaching for several years and the students love them. This year I bought the complete French pack which I have been using in school. I have 3 students who want to learn German so I was delighted that The Language Factory also have German resources, and I shall be investigating these further.

I made a brief stop at some of the Chinese stands but having already purchased books 1 and 2 of Chinese Made Easy and just started the OU Chinese course I could not justify buying any more Chinese resources right now, although the write-on, wipe-off flash cards looked useful.

Something that was definately missing was anything to do with the 2012 Olympics. With the world arriving imminently on our doorstep I would have thought we will be needing to harness all our linguistic resources and what better opportunity to do that than a hall full of linguists over a three day period. Next year perhaps?

Leave a Reply

