Intermediate Chinese

One of the purposes of this blog is for me to record CPD events. Last week I spent an interesting week at SOAS on an intensive intermediate level Chinese course. It is now about 9 months since I finished the OU course and I was finding it difficult to progress. When I booked this one week course I hoped that my level would be good enough and spent the previous 3 weeks madly brushing up my Chinese. Fortunately I found the level was about right. Although I did not learn any new structures I learnt quite a lot of new vocabulary but mostĀ valuable was the exposure to the target language. With fifteen students with different Chinese learning backgrounds and quite a range of abilities there was ample opportunity to find out about ways to further my Chinese skills. So, as well as renewed confidence in speaking, listening and reading, I have come away with a list of things to do: books to buy, HSK testing to check out and arrange, and a short course in China to reasearch.

Leave a Reply

