Travel writing course

I have just completed an on-line course on travel writing, which I have thoroughly enjoyed. I particularly enjoyed learning about the history of travel writing and reading contributions from other participants on the course.

One useful skill that I have practised was editing my work to conform to a set word count. It is easy to ramble but the set word count forces you to be more creative with your style.

I also learnt about colour. In trying to find different words for colour I discovered that many of the descriptive words available have textural connotations, or may be taste and smell.

It has given me an opportunity to reflect on my travel experiences and see them in a different light.

Leave a Reply

